Go to top of page

Criminology Research Advisory Council

The Criminology Research Act 1971 (Cwth) provides that the Criminology Research Advisory Council is to consist of nine members, comprising a representative of the Commonwealth and of each state and territory. The Council is responsible for providing advice to the Director of the AIC on strategic priorities for research and priorities for communicating research results.

Council members

The Criminology Research Advisory Council is made up of the following members:

  • Julia Griffith, Deputy Secretary, Correction, Victorian Department of Justice and Regulation (Chair)
  • Jenny Lang, Acting Deputy Director General, Queensland Department of Justice and Attorney-General (Deputy Chair)
  • Alison Playford, Director-General, ACT Justice and Community Safety Directorate
  • Catherine Hawkins, First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Policy and Programmes Division, Attorney-General’s Department
  • Greg Shanahan, Chief Executive, NT Department of the Attorney-General and Justice
  • Paul Miller, Deputy Secretary Justice Strategy and Policy, NSW Department of Justice
  • Ingrid Haythorpe, Chief Executive, SA Attorney General’s Department
  • Adam Tomison, Director General, WA Department of Justice
  • Appointment pending, Tasmanian Department of Justice
Last updated
11 December 2017