Go to top of page


ACBPS Australian Customs and Border Protection Service

ADF Australian Defence Force

AELERT Australasian Environmental Law and Enforcement Network

AFCS Australian Forest Certification Scheme

AFMA Australian Fisheries Management Authority

AFP Australian Federal Police

AFZ Australian Fishing Zone

AIC Australian Institute of Criminology

ASEAN Association of Southeast Asian Nations

AS/NZ ISO Australia/New Zealand International Organization for Standardization

AUS-NPOA-IUU Australian National Plan of Action to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing

CBD Convention on Biological Diversity

CCAMLR Convention on the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources

CDM Clean Development Mechanism

CAWT Coalition Against Wildlife Trafficking

CFCs chloroflurocarbons

CITES Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora

DAFF Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

DEC Department of Environment and Conservation

DECC Department of Environment and Climate Change

DEPHA Department of Environment, Parks, Heritage and the Arts

DPIPWE Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment

DPP Director of Public Prosecutions

EPA Environmental Protection Agency/Authority

EPPs environmental protection policies

EU European Union

EEZ Exclusive Economic Zones

e-waste electronic waste

FAO Food and Agriculture Organization

FLEGT Forest Law Enforcement, Governance and Trade

FOC flags of convenience

FSC Forest Stewardship Council

GNSS Global Navigation Satellite System

HCFCs hydrochlorofluorocarbons

IPOA-IUU International Plan of Action—Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing

ISO International Organization for Standardization

ITTO International Tropical Timber Organization

IUU illegal, unregulated and unreported

JIRs Judicial Information Research System

MEAs Multilateral Environment Agreements

MOU memorandum of understanding

MOU Box Operations of Indonesian Traditional Fisherman in Areas of the Australian Fishing Zone and Continental Shelf

MSC Marine Stewardship Council

NEPMs National Environment Protection Measures

NGOs non-government organisations

NWI National Water Initiative

OCS Offshore Constitutional Settlements

ODSs Ozone depleting substances

PVC polyvinyl chloride

PVPs property vegetation (management) plans

SEPPs state environment protection policies

SFRs Statutory Fishing Rights

SGGs synthetic greenhouse gases

SLATs Statewide Landcare and Trees Study

STR Arrangement South Tasman Rise Arrangement

TEC transnational environmental crime

TFT tit-for-tat enforcement strategy

TST Torres Strait Treaty

UNCLOS 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

VMS vessel monitoring systems

VPAs Voluntary Partnership Agreements

WWF World Wide Fund for Nature

Last updated
3 November 2017