Go to top of page
26 November 2019

Mackay’s Assault Free Zone recognised for raising awareness in the community

Queensland Police Services’s (QPS) Assault Free Zone program today received a bronze award in the police-led category of the 2019 Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards (ACVPA).

The ACVPA recognise best practice in the prevention or reduction of violence and other types of crime in Australia and play a vital role in highlighting effective community-based initiatives to prevent crime and violence.

QPS Sergeant Nigel Dalton said the Assault Free Zone project is designed to remind all members of the Mackay district that assaults will not be tolerated—in any part of the community, in any environment or at any time.

The campaign has been rolled out in schools, Safe Night Precincts, schoolies events in the Whitsundays, local hospitals and CQ University campuses and accommodation facilities.

“While most slogan-related campaigns over the years are aimed as a personal warning to an offender, the Assault Free Zone campaign sends a message of empowerment to the community that none of us tolerate assault,” said Sergeant Dalton.

“Our sole aim in working within this area of policing is to keep everyone safe and prevent the needless harm that occurs through an assault. Winning this award is an honour to the team that put this project together.”

The annual ACVPA recognise the outstanding contributions being made across Australia for crime prevention, including the development and implementation of practical projects to reduce violence and other types of crime in the community.

“This simple and cost effective concept promotes a clear message of zero-tolerance when it comes to assault, and the project has the potential to be transferred to police jurisdictions across Australia,” said Australian Institute of Criminology (AIC) Director, Michael Phelan APM.

All projects are assessed each year by the ACVPA Board, which consists of senior law enforcement representatives from each state and territory police service, and chaired by the AIC Director.

The awards are a joint initiative of the Australian, state and territory governments, coordinated by the AIC and co-sponsored by the Ministerial Council for Police and Emergency Management.

For more information about the award winners, visit www.aic.gov.au/acvpa


Last updated
26 November 2019