Go to top of page

Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards

The annual Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards (ACVPA) recognise and reward good practice in the prevention or reduction of violence and other types of crime in Australia. The awards encourage public initiatives, and assist governments in identifying and developing practical projects which will reduce violence and other types of crime in the community.

Any government agency, not-for-profit organisation or individual person making a significant contribution to a project in Australia can be nominated for an award. Projects may address specific groups such as rural and remote communities, women, children, youth, family, migrant, ethnic or Indigenous communities, or specific problems such as alcohol-related violence.

Nominations for the 2018 ACVPA are now closed.

On this page:


The selection process

Winners will be notified in November 2018 and recognised at a presentation at Parliament House, Canberra.
The final decision on the winners will be made by the ACVPA Board, which comprises appointees of the relevant Australian, state and territory police agencies. The number of awards is at the discretion of the Board and will depend on the standard of nominations. Board members are:

  • Mr Michael Phelan APM (Chair, AIC Director and Australian Government representative)
  • Mr Andrew McIntosh (ACT Justice and Community Safety Directorate)
  • Superintendent David Robtell (NSW Police Force)
  • Superintendent Craig Barrett (NT Police)
  • Superintendent David Tucker (Qld Police Service)
  • Chief Inspector Alex Zimmermann, (SA Police)
  • Senior Sergeant Tony Grincais (Tas Department of Police, Fire and Emergency Management)
  • Inspector Zorka Dunstan (Vic Police)
  • Superintendent Kate Taylor (WA Police).

Please note:

  • Final eligibility is at the discretion of the selection board.
  • Projects led by government departments or are substantially supported by government funds are not eligible to receive cash awards. Winners of cash awards may be required to supply supplementary information about their organisation; for example, office bearers, current funding and previous grants.
  • Monetary awards must be used to benefit the project that was nominated.
  • The Australian Institute of Criminology will use information from nominations to establish a database of effective projects which government and organisations can use for their programs. This database may also be used for future promotion.
  • If you do not receive confirmation of receipt of your nomination for the Awards, please contact the Secretariat on 02 6268 7450.
  • These awards are not project or operating grants. They are designed to reward good practice in the prevention of violence and other crime in Australia.
  • Previous Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Award winners must demonstrate significant changes or progress to the original award-winning project to be eligible for future award nominations.

Judging criteria

The Board’s decisions are based on the following:

  • the quality of the evidence presented to support the nomination
  • the project’s capacity or potential to prevent or reduce crime
  • how project success is measured
  • the ability for the project to be adapted for other geographic locations
  • how sustainable project outcomes are
  • how innovative the project is
  • whether the project raises community awareness of crime and violence.

2017 winners

Last year, eleven programs were recognised as winners. Read more about them here.

Contact us

Contact the ACVPA Secretariat on 02 6268 7450 or acvpa [at] aic.gov.au.

Last updated
19 July 2018