Go to top of page

Former Directors of the Australian Institute of Criminology

The Australian Institute of Criminology was established in 1973. The Hon Mr Justice JH Muirhead QC was acting Director (Feb 1973-May 1975) until the Institute's first Director, Mr William Clifford, was appointed in 1975.

Dr Adam M Tomison

Dr Tomison was appointed Director of the AIC in July 2009. He is internationally recognised as an expert in the field of child abuse, the prevention of child abuse and other family violence, and the development and operation of child protection and family support systems. An experienced public service executive, he has worked over the past two decades with a range of government, non-government organisations and advocacy groups focused on child protection and child abuse prevention in Australia and overseas. Prior to his appointment with the AIC he was Head of the Child Protection Program at the Menzies School of Health Research. From 2004 to 2008 he held various senior executive positions within the Northern Territory Department of Health and Families, including as Director of the Northern Territory's Family and Children's Services, and as the Department's inaugural Principal Child Protection Adviser in 2004. In 2006-07 Dr Tomison was the expert advisor (and Director of Policy and Research) for the 'Little Children are Sacred' NT Inquiry into the Protection of Aboriginal Children from Sexual Abuse. He first became well-known for his work as a senior researcher with the Australian Institute of Family Studies, managing the National Child Protection Clearinghouse. Under his leadership, the Clearinghouse became a centre for excellence with a national and international reputation in the field of child abuse prevention and child protection. He subsequently developed a number of other national research and information units for the Institute, notably the Australian Centre for the Study of Sexual Assault.

Dr Tomison has made significant academic contributions to scholarly and applied research in the areas of child protection and violence prevention. He continues to present lectures and training seminars to government, academic and community audiences, and is currently an Honorary Professor at the Australian Catholic University. In 2008 he was an invited participant at the Prime Minister's Australia 2020 summit in Canberra. In 2011 he was awarded an inaugural Deakin University Alumni of the Year Award for outstanding service and achievement in his profession and for the community; in that year he also became a White Ribbon Ambassador reflecting his commitment to preventing violence.

Professor Toni Makkai

Professor Toni Makkai was Director of the AIC from September 2003 to May 2008. She was the Institute's Director of Research prior to taking up the post and has published extensively in drugs and crime, crime statistics, and regulation and compliance. In 1999 she established the Drug Use Monitoring in Australia (DUMA) program to monitor illicit drugs and crime and is a member of the Australian National Council on Drugs (2007-2009) and the Advisory Board Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice & Governance, Griffith University (2005-2009). She is currently the Dean of Arts and Social Sciences at the Australian National University.

Professor Adam Graycar

Professor Adam Graycar was Director of the AIC from November 1994 to September 2003. With extensive experience in policy and research, Professor Graycar was the Foundation Director of the Social Policy Research Centre, University of NSW and has also been head of various Commonwealth and State government agencies, including appointment as Australia's first Commissioner for the Ageing. Mr Graycar was Head of the Cabinet Office of the Government of South Australia from 2003-07 and is currently Dean of the School of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University, Newark, New Jersey.

Professor Duncan Chappell

Professor Duncan Chappell was Director of the AIC from July 1987 to June 1994. Graduating with his PhD from the University of Cambridge, Professor Chappell has occupied a range of academic positions in Australia and Overseas. He was a member of the Australian Law Reform Commission during 1978-79 and also served as the Australian representative on a Commonwealth Observer Mission to South Africa.

Professor Richard Harding

Professor Richard Harding was Director of the AIC from September 1983 to June 1987. Prior to that he was Dean of Law at the University of Western Australia, having held other academic law positions at Osgoode Hall, Oxford, Chicago and University College, London. He was also a member and Chair of the WA Law Reform Commission and a Commissioner of the ABC.

Mr William Clifford

William Clifford was Director of the AIC from June 1975 to August 1983. He had held positions in charge of social welfare and development in Cyprus and Northern Rhodesia, and had held several positions with the United Nations.

Acting Directors

Other acting Directors over the life of the Institute have been: Dr Evan Davies (Nov 1974-Jan 1975); Dr Grant Wardlaw (April 1994 – Nov 1994); and Mr Tony Marks (May 2008 – Jul 2009).

Last updated
29 August 2017